Art in the Park 2013

Standard

Last Saturday I went with Jessel Duque, one of my dearest writer friends, to Art in the Park, the annual flea market for Philippine visual arts held at Jaime Velasquez Park in Salcedo Village, Makati City. Lots of people go to the fair to buy art on the cheap. If you have a bit of extra cash and a good eye, you can actually end up with amazing steals. But even if you’re not the kind who buys art, it’s still a great event to check out. There are lots of things to see, touch, hear, smell, and taste, and you are bound to bump into someone you know (or someone you wish you knew. Eye candy galore!).

Well, I came away with two really lovely things from Art in the Park this year. First is a spiky black and white book bag from 98B COLLABoratory, which I loved so much that I had to use it right away. The name of the artist who makes the bags escapes me now, but I wanted to have one of my own the first time I saw its spiky quirkiness.  Visual artist Mimi Tecson was using one when we both attended an exhibit opening at Art Informal in San Juan early last year, and it was through her that I learned who the maker was. Second is the memory of a fat cat resting on a pedestal. She was blissfully unaware of the spotlights and the many people who were taking pictures of her ignoring the sculpture whose platform she had decided to claim for her own. Jessel took pictures of her, and I’m posting a couple here.

If you want to read more about the galleries and organizations that took part in Art in the Park, read this.

Jessel blogs at kantogirlblues.blogspot.com

I just love this cat. Photo by Jessel Duque.

I just love this cat. Photo by Jessel Duque.

A closer look at the cat. Photo by Jessel Duque.

A closer look at the cat. Photo by Jessel Duque.

Leave a comment